A Nation of Cowards… or Realists?

I have to say that I was really disappointed by the statements made recently by the first black US Attorney General, Eric Holder. Allow me to just be up front about this… I don’t like Eric Holder in the first place. He was a horrible selection to be the AG. Perhaps The Messiah’s worst pick of the bunch, which is really bad because The Messiah has made some BAD picks, including several who had to didn’t bother to pay the taxes they want to prosecute us for not paying.
 

I want to be fair about this so I can admit that I get the gist of what he was attempting to say with some of the things. He had some good messages stuffed in there at the end. But the things he said up front were a bit disturbing to me. Just so we are clear up front what we are talking about. On February 18, AG Holder addressed the employees of the Justice Department in honor of black history month. In that speech the, our new Attorney General made the following comment:

Holder“Though this nation has proudly thought of itself as an ethnic melting pot, in things racial we have always been and continue to be, in too many ways, essentially a nation of cowards. Though race related issues continue to occupy a significant portion of our political discussion, and though there remain many unresolved racial issues in this nation, we, average Americans, simply do not talk enough with each other about race.” He continued by saying that race issues continue to be a topic of political discussion, but “we, as average Americans, simply do not talk enough with each other about race.” 

Gee, mister Attorney General, I wonder why that is? I mean why on earth would white people not be willing to talk with black people about race? Could it be the fact that simply disagreeing with any black person on any of their arguments about race results in the immediate retort that we are a racist? I have been clear about this in the past. There is NOTHING that white people in America fear more than being called a racist. It ranks right up there with pedophile. 

And I cannot recall a time when I have had discussions with black people who don’t know me and disagreed with their point of view that I haven’t been called a racist. I am not a racist. I have lots of friends of all kinds of colors and backgrounds. Some examples just from this blog: Kid Funkadelic: “When you republiklans stop being racists, homophobic, sexist, and anti-immigrant people MAY listen to you.” When I challenged him on his points and tried to discuss race with him, he made the following comments: “YOU SIR ARE A RACIST! The sad part is YOU KNOW IT.The Germans could have used you to deny the holocaust.You right racism didn’t happen ,Black people are where we’re at because we’re lazy and kill each other,that is total bull. So do you have some sort of “Final Solution” to use on them.” For anyone who would like to read the entire conversation it is under the “Welcoming Michael Steele” Post from February 3.

There is the problem I encounter when having discussions on race with many black people in America. I will say up front that I am not a coward. In fact I am quite the opposite, even on this subject. I will not back down from the conversation and I am not afraid to tell someone when I think their argument is junk. And many of the arguments being made about race these days are the result of propaganda being spread throughout the black communities. 

fayetteville-state-logoYears ago I attended an “all black” university for one semester. I was in the military and was given a semester to attend college as a reenlistment perk. The closest university to me was Fayetteville State University, a member of the CIAA conference, made up of traditional black universities such as Shaw, Virginia Union, North Carolina Central, and Bowie State. I know nothing of what is taught at any of those schools and from what I understand they are all fine institutions with solid academic programs.

But I can speak about Fayetteville State first hand. I was appalled by what was being taught in the classrooms there. It wasn’t black history, it was black revolution. They were being taught all of those arguments that drive us crazy today: Whites are all racist deep inside, some are just better at hiding it. White people are keeping blacks un-educated and poor. Whites have a 400 year head start of inherited money and education and they owe us for that. It was a horrible experience for me, I had grown up with as many black friends as white friends. These impressionable young black people were being taught their whole life to hate white people, the same way white people used to be taught many years ago to hate blacks.

I had no idea that black people felt that way, let alone that they were being taught that in school. Needless to say, I didn’t keep my mouth shut there either. It was a good thing I was adept at defending myself. I have always been branded a racist for speaking my mnd and refusing to cave to the propaganda that is being spewed in the name of race in America. I have many black friends that read this blog, perhaps some of them are willing to defend me and attest that I have no racism in me. 

But I digress, the point is that we CAN’T talk about race in America, because unless we simply agree with everything said, we are immediately branded a racist.

HolderMr. Holder went on to say that our workplaces are no longer segregated, but in our private lives we continue to protect ourselves in “race cocoons”. We don’t hang out with each other on Saturdays and Sundays outside of work. I know this isn’t true for me. I hang out with all kinds of people when I actually have the time to hang out with people at all, white, black, whatever. My best friend is Filipino. I just don’t see it. But I guess Americans may be like this, I can’t see everywhere. I know I brought this up with a co-worker a bit ago and was told:

Of course we don’t hang out on the weekends. We don’t have anything in common. We don’t listen to the same music. We don’t watch the same shows, the same movies, or have the same interests. It isn’t that I won’t hang out with them because they are black. I don’t hang out with them because we have nothing in common. I don’t hang out with white people who I have nothing in common with either.

I do understand that Mr. Holder’s point was that we need to have these conversations in order to get past this. He also made the following comments: “If we’re going to ever make progress, we’re going to have to have the guts, we have to have the determination, to be honest with each other. It also means we have to be able to accept criticism where that is justified,” along with “race is an issue we have never been at ease with and, given our nation’s history, this is in some ways understandable… If we are to make progress in this area, we must feel comfortable enough with one another and tolerant enough of each other to have frank conversations about the racial matters that continue to divide us.” 

So I am taking you up on it Mr. holder. I am no coward. So I have opened the door for this discussion. If the answer is that we should have discussions about race and not be afraid to disagree and talk through the issues that we disagree on, then that is what I am willing to do. The bottom line is that I want race relations to improve in America. So I am willing to do my part by starting the conversation, just as the Attorney General asked me to. If you would like to read the article on Holder’s speech you can do so here:

Holder Calls U.S. ‘Nation of Cowards’ on Race Matters – Presidential Politics | Political News – FOXNews.com

Comments

  1. USWeapon, I think you are right on. I was horrified to read of your experience at the all black college. That’s a real wake up call. I told many people prior to last year’s election that Obama’s administration would create a situation in which race relations become as bad as they were 40-50 years ago. He is not a healer, or uniter; I think he harbors many of the beliefs that are taught at Fayetteville State, and I’m sure, many other black colleges. Can you imagine if the opposite were taught at mostly white colleges? The hypocrisy is mind numbing. I wish I had more black friends, but I am sorry to say that most with whom I am acquainted have a chip on their shoulder. I don’t want to associate with anyone with an ax to grind, no matter their color, gender, or sexual orientation. But I will embrace any one of the above who is a realist and has the courage to be open-minded and look at life through a different paradigm.

  2. Until I saw the part of about it being said during black history month, my first reaction was ‘where the heck is this coming from?’.

    I guess I fall pray as much as anyone to the “don’t go there” reaction whenever this subject is brought up. It usually goes nowhere and gets ugly fast.

    In the spirit of not being called a coward, however, and with much hope that cooler heads will prevail here, I’ll throw my hat into the ring (but keep my flak jacket handy just in case).

    I actually feel Obama struck the right balance on this with his ‘more perfect union’ speech.

    I’m curious as to what readers of this board think of Obama’s take on the subject as expressed in that speech… just give me a minute to put my flak jacket back on first though…the old fears never do quite fade away.

    • David,

      No need for a flak jacket here. At least not usually. I thought that Obama’s speech back during the campaign about racism was very good. I was glad to see him tackle the issue and do so in a positive way. The article that I linked to actually made note of that speech.

  3. Thank you for this article. I have never been more troubled about race than I have through this entire campaign and since because of comments like Holders. I have been so naive! As a white person I have tip-toed carefully so as never to offend or appear racist. Yes, I knew the Jesse Jackson/Al Sharpton types perpetuate the whole racism thing – it’s how they make their living – but my “aha” moment was watching and listening to the rants of Jerry Wright (I still have a hard time with the “Reverend” part). What the hell was going on? Why would a black “leader” want to keep his “flock” down and angry and racist? Of course, come to find out, this too was black revolution theology. Cowards? I think not – but no more of the belief that its mostly whites causing blacks problems – this is within the black community and only they can fix it.

  4. Kathy,

    I think you nailed that one right on the head. Until the black community looks within and understand that it is their own leaders such as Wright that are perpetuating the problem, not solving it, there will never be peace for them. Their issue isn’t with white people, we’re just handy targets.

  5. Karl L. from Esom Hill says:

    I entirely agree that this is a problem. I am the same as US in the fact that I have Aquaintances that are all colors and races. I don’t say friends because, like US I have nothing in common with them. If I don’t hang out with someone and just “know” them, I don’t really consider them friends. They are just folks that I like and respect. They come from a different culture than I do. They like to do different things than I do. This doesn’t mean I don’t think they’re fine people, just different. But the race card can be thrown both ways. I know blacks and hispanics who are just as racist as any white person I have ever seen. For this problem to ever be resolved, it will have be be worked on from both sides, not just one. All people need to realize that we are all humans. No matter our color. It is ridiculous for a person to say I am a racist just because I don’t agree with them. Hell, I don’t even agree a lot with my wife! That don’t make me a male chauvanist!

  6. Just read this great response regarding this subject:

    http://democracy-project.com/?p=3408

  7. Kathy,

    I went to that site and that was a great response. Even better that it came from one of our men in uniform. I hope that someone will see it and understand that we can’t have someone so devisive in the White House.

  8. I am not a racist, but I do not fear being called one. I cannot change the opinions of those who think with blinders on, and I am not going to attempt to. It is my sincere belief that if you are secure in who and what you are, then no matter what the rhetoric is, no amount of name calling is going to matter.

    Eric Holder is the worst of the worst with regard to the chosen one’s appointments. Mr. Obama is not a stupid individual, but he is not wise. His inexperience is showing and will ultimately be his downfall. I, for one, welcome that day.

  9. I saw a youtube video of a NY1 newscast the other day…it has since been removed from the site for “copyright reasons.” If I were to describe it, I could be viewed as being racist. One might be able to find it downloaded into someone’s blog site. It was funny in a very sad way.

    In teaching the Constitution the other day, I had a student argue with me about the 15th Amendment. I had written on the board that it was ratified in 1870, during Reconstruction. My student was positive I was wrong, because Whoopi Goldberg had stated on Fox News that blacks did not get the RIGHT to vote until 1968, therefore I had to be wrong about what was in the 15th Amendment, and the pocket US Constitution books I gave them (those that are given to servicemen) must be mixed up. Therefore, surely I am teaching revisionist history, because Whoopi could not possibly be misinformed.

  10. revolution2010 says:

    Rowe,
    That is the most horrifying thing I have heard in a long time! If we want to be honest, I will be glad to throw my hat in! I grew up in a small town, mostly white with a handful of black kids and a few Vietnamese, Chinese and Philippine. Everyone just kind of blended in with us and were accepted by everyone… at least the kids.
    My family had some sayings that would horrify anyone and came from VA. I was frequently reminded about the FACT that Black people were not the same as white… down to their DNA… I have heard every argument in the book. The funny part was that these people were my friends. I hung out with a group that was almost equally split in color, and we didn’t see any difference when we were hanging out. I don’t know about their experience, but I know the only time I really had a clue we were different is when my family would bring it up. Those black kids were as much my family in high school as any.
    When I grew up, I had the opportunity to move to the south, Southern GA, to be exact. I was completely SHOCKED by the experience. Older white people were ridiculously racist and could tell you the history of the KKK. They assumed that since you were white you felt the same way. The younger they got, the less of that you saw, but it was still there save a couple of fringe southerners.
    What shocked me is that black people treated me differently. I was immediately distrusted. It made me very sad. They are taught to distrust and dislike white people. The younger they got, the worse it was. Older black people were nice and saw me as more trustworthy. The younger they got, the more of a bone it seemed they had to pick with me. It was almost exactly the opposite of what I was brought up with. It was a real eye opener and actually scared me a little. I wanted to back up north where the lines were less defined or at least seemed that way.
    I think the younger generations are more at ease with different races though I see them having the “poser issue” as the biggest one. You don’t have to pretend to be black to fit in and you shouldn’t have to “act” whiter to be thought of as educated. It will be interesting to see where it goes. I think at this point, the whites have come further than the blacks and are a bit baffled by why the whole thing is spinning out of control.
    I hope we can get some black people in here to see what they really think. Perhaps we can all be more honest with out being face to face. I don’t really think of myself as racist, but I have definitely become more skeptical since I left the south, which just seems kind of ludicrous! I can’t wait for the day when it is a non-issue and I hope I live to see it.

    • Revolution,

      Let me back that up as someone who grew up with you in that small little town. We were in the same “clique” back then (did we mention it was a small town and everyone was in the same clique, lol). Not only were those people from other races just another part of the group, they were some of my best friends. I lived with several of them after high school. We never saw any difference between us. We just weren’t any different. We wanted to drink the same cheap alcohol, dance to the same music, and laugh at the same jokes. We dated the same girls, defended each other in fights, and picked each other up when we were down. Perhaps we were in our own little world there in that little town, but for all of us that were in that age group, we never had a problem with race.

      I will still never forget you coming in and telling me the manner in which you were given directions, by going down to a certain cemetery and taking a left. Southeast Georgia was a wake up call for both of us, although I don’t think as much for me. I had lived in southwest GA and seen some of it and in North Carolina, where I first encountered true racism when I went from one county to another and the sign at the county line in 1995 said, “N—ers Aren’t Welcome” My best friend was with me, a black man from Compton named Johnny Taylor (who I sure wish I could find now), we literally turned around at the county line and went home. I didn’t even know what to say.

      Now I live in the south again. I see racism, although not as much as I used to, and I only live 30 minutes from that county line. The signs are gone, but the sentiment is not, at least not in that rural county. In the city we don’t see it. Durham is 50% black. You would struggle to live here if you were a racist. But i see the reverse of it constantly. Racism by blacks against whites is rampant, with an all-black university downtown. The city has struggled with poverty and ruin since the tobacco industry, which Durham was once the capital of, left town for greener pastures in Virginia.

      I wonder how much of that “reverse racism” you see in your town now. You live in a city plagued for a long time by poverty and with one of the tougher ghettos in America. Do you feel much of it? How about your husband? I know he must come into contact with so many people with his profession. As someone who doesn’t see race as a factor, I always try my best to have the tough conversations that end up with me being called a racist. I imagine that he, who is every bit as vocal and strong willed as you and I are, encounters some of the same issues.

  11. G. A. Rowe says:

    ROWE

    You have stumbled across the very problem with our youth – They honestly believe that an uneducated “celebrity” actually knows more than an educated history teacher. Actors and actresses are just that – people who play make believe for a living. Some of them do it so much that they have a hard time with who and what they really are. Whoopi is one of them.

    There are a great many black people who have contributed to the shaping and history of this Country. Most of them remain anonymous to the general public, and some of them have actually been given credit for things they have had nothing to do with – G.W. Carver has been erroneously credited with inventing peanut butter, yet his real contributions to agriculture have largely gone unheralded.

    I don’t believe that you will ever be able to correct that students attitude, such is the nature of the mis-information spoon fed to the black youth of today. I distinctly remember a story about sharks crossing the Atlantic from Africa to America along the so-called slave trade routs to this day that a prominent “celebrity” actor still believes is true. Yet this same actor had no knowledge of who captured the slaves and sold them to the slave ship captains in the first place.

    Have your student watch the movie “Hotel Rwanda” if he has a chance. It might educate him as to what really happens in Africa, and why.

  12. Texas Tirrell says:

    US

    When growing up in this very rural and small county in the southwest, we didn’t know what racism was.

    We have very few ‘blacks’ and the ‘hispanics’ out number us 10 to 1. The point being, we all got along. We didn’t see color, we saw the heart. We all worked hard, played hard, and helped each other.
    We still do.

    We can’t figure it out. I was very upset to here the US AG say what he said. I’m not racist, nor am I a coward!

  13. I have to say I totally agree with USWeapon. I grew up in an extremely “diverse” town, I had friends from everything ethnic, racial and religious background you could think of–it was something people simply never thought about.

    Now, however I’m attending Bloomsburg University, a small PA state school in the middle of nowhere. It is a predominantly white farm town. The school however, has a significant population of black students from inner city Philly. I lived with them in the dorms my freshman year, and the experience was horrifying. These kids wanted nothing to do with any of the white students, and any blacks that associated with whites were cast out as well. In November there was a homecoming dance. Due to a series of circumstances, a fight broke out and the cops used pepper spray to break up the crowd. Of course, the black community is calling race. I say, the cops were doing their jobs. But anyone that disagrees is a redneck racist.
    You can read about this ridiculous situation here: http://bloomutoday.proboards29.com/index.cgi?action=display&board=news&thread=977

    The mindset of the black community today is just frightening.

  14. It seems that Mr. Holder is the farthest from being a realist than I have seen in a long time. Maybe Mr. Holder should take a peek outside the 50’s himself.

    It’s time that America stop this same old rhetoric that has been fanning the flames of racism for 250 years.

    I know things aren’t perfect between the races but that’s a two way street and frankly get tired of getting the blame for it all. Case in point, one day I was going into work and I saw this woman working, housecleaning in the building where I worked. I was relatively new, shy around people I didn’t know, especially at that time (a fact that many african americans never seem to take into account-the fact that many times people don’t speak for reasons other than that they are african american), and I had never seen this woman before. Well, she and I saw each other one other time that morning before we were introduced on the third meeting that morning. Upon being introduced, this woman’s first words to me were “You seen me three times this morning and didn’t speak.” I reminded her that she hadn’t spoken to me either.

    My point to that story is that when both sides are rude to each other (and this like racism is on both sides), it fosters those negative images of the races. While I could have spoken, she could have done the same and this is what I resent about Mr. Holder’s rhetoric, that white America needs to fix it. He may not have said this but many people before him have and his remarks just keep those flames of racism burning.

    By the way, I hope the author of this article was calling our Lord God in Heaven the Messiah and not President Obama. No offense to President Obama but that’s disrespect to our Lord and I take offense to the author’s misuse of the term Messiah.

    • John,

      Sorry to offend you. I was referring to the Persident as the Messiah. That is not becuase I believe that he is such of course. It is a reference to the way that people treat him and worship him. He can do no wrong. He is the savior of the country. They act as though he is a messiah. I sarcastically use that reference often. It isn’t a slight against the Lord, any more than my calling him “the One” is a slight against Neo in the Matrix. I use lots of sarcasm and wit in writing here and it works for me. But I do apologize if it offends you when I do so.

  15. John,

    I don’t think that it can be fixed. It won’t matter what whites do or for how long we do it, it will never be enough. I sometimes think when I hear men like Jesse Jackson, Al Sharpton and Jeremiah Wright speak that they want racism to continue. If it ends, then what are they going to complain about? They’ll have to find somplace else for their hatred. I don’t think that I have ever been accused of being racist but there is a first time for every thing. Mostly I just keep my head down, do what I need to do and go home. That was a little strategy that I picked up in boot camp. It worked too, the drill instructors pretty much left me alone. I think maybe that is something that America should apply to the hate mongers out there like Jackson, Sharpton and Wright. If we ignore them, will they go away? As far as US refering to Obama as the Messiah, I believe he was being sarcastic.

  16. Kristen,

    Thanks for the insight on the Messiah comment. I hope you’re right. As for your other comments thank you again but I have to say that I think it can be fixed. I’ve always been an optimist when comes to problems that seem as though they can’t be fixed. I think that it takes both sides speaking up and saying “No misters Jackson, Sharpton, Wright, and Holder you’re wrong. Grow up.” We’ve become a nation of people so afraid to offend that we loose pieces of ourselve in the process. These problems can go away if BOTH sides take ownership of their on crap and talk to each other rather than spouting rhetoric. I guess I’ve just gotten tired of hearing people like Mr. Holder and that lady I told you about get away with blaming me, for one, for their stuff.

  17. Revolution2010 and G.A. Rowe:

    I am in the deep rural south at the moment…and I am not exactly white-anglo. While not entirely overlooked, it is not viewed as totally abnormal due to the military base which supports this town. I have lived in many southern areas, and have both grown up with and taught a diverse group of kids over the years. This is the first group I have encountered that gets all of its misinformation from MTV, The View, or the likes. Before this year, they have never really read a book or newspaper, and had no idea that the United States even had a Constitution. As for the student who was positive I was wrong…she was not an ethnic minority. That is what was most striking.

    G.A. Rowe…are you in Georgia, perchance?

  18. Just to take this to another place and something to think about…..several of you mention keeping your head down (or similar) to avoid this whole racist thing – between blacks and whites. Have you noticed how we, as a country, are now doing the same thing with Muslims? We tiptoe around, back down from any (remotely potential) inflammatory language because we are scared to be on the wrong side of Islamic wrath? I see many parallels and with our President being exceptionally sympathetic to this cause, it is very concerning.

  19. revolution2010 says:

    USWeapon,
    It is funny thinking back to both of those times in our life, in that small town and again in that crazy southern vacuum. They were so completely opposite and so much the same. I have left those places though I often think of both of those situations as some of the most impactful in my life. There were situations that we were exposed to which still fund my eternal optimism for the end of racial tension.
    Here in the big city it is different. While we have one of the highest murder rates in the country, I live, as you know in an area that is blue-collar union worker and middle management. The strange part is that the school system here busses in city kids because their schools are so overcrowded. They make no bones about the fact that they want nothing to do with the “privileged white kids” and the strange part is they are really middle-income families. Their parents are hard working hourly folk.
    Most of the bad areas are downtown and outside of that scope, the crime is not high. It is strange to go downtown and to watch the rural neighborhood turn into the blue light district (which I had to ask my husband about the first time I went through it) as they are butted up next to each other and it is painfully obvious when you cross that line. The people there know they scare you and they like it. That is the feeling I get every time I drive through it.
    Several areas here, like the zoo are in terrible neighborhoods with high crime. The people there are very dismissive and it doesn’t matter if you speak to them or not. Their response is obviously disdainful.
    Jimmy hits more in the city than I do and has to be much more careful. The fact that he has a truck full of tools doesn’t help. There are certain areas where he is not allowed to go without another mechanic, not because they are afraid that something will happen, but because things already have. Several of the guys he works with carry some form of haymaker with them. The city winds in and out of good and bad neighborhoods and the people there seem to want to keep their neighborhood in dire straights. They almost seem to like the control they have over it. The biggest hope I have is that the more interracial young people we see, and the more they intermingle at young ages, hopefully, the lines will slowly cross and become one… though I still think it is decades away.
    Rowe,
    Funny that you mention GA, as that is the place we were in. It was horrifying. I was selling insurance to union members, mostly from the pulp mills. As I mentioned, people often assumed because I was white that I also had a hatred of black people. There was one instance where a very nice man asked me who I was going to visit next and when I told him, he said “oh, he is a real nice n—-er”. You could have knocked me off my chair with a feather! How did you just use those 2 words in the same sentence???????????? The other situation I had, and I was warned not to go into this area after dark… but I did, because I wasn’t afraid… after all, I wasn’t a racist… when I left the house of a nice, uneducated older black couple, the lady wanted to walk me out… I thought it strange until we got outside and as I stood on the porch and said goodbye, she seemed to be hurrying me along. When I turned around, there was a group of young black men walking toward us and they started cat calling and making rude comments to me. She grabbed my arm and said to me… “You leave here and you don’t come back”, turned me around and pushed me toward my car. At that point she put herself in between me and the mob and started saying, you don’t have any business here, just go on… she is leaving… and the likes. I was truly afraid and I was so sad for them and for me. That was the most racist I had ever felt.
    I was mad because I shouldn’t be made to feel like that and I didn’t want to feel what I felt for them. I don’t care what color they are. We are all people, we all have our own crap and we all just want to live some kind of meaningful life… or maybe they did not, and that is not what I wanted to think… I shouldn’t have to think that of anyone. What is the purpose of that life? I don’t want race to be an issue because there are too many important things to concentrate on. I hope one day we can all leave that behind us.

  20. Revolution2010:

    I asked about Georgia based upon the initials G.A., and that we share the moniker of ‘Rowe.’ I have relatives in Georgia, which is why I asked. Reading back upon my post, I guess that could be misinterpreted. My apologies if it was.

    I remember forced bussing from long ago. I was assigned to a school that was close by, but in a very poor area. The school was in a neighborhood that was once the slave quarters section of a plantation. 115 years had not improved it, and the school was in poor condition. Children who had new schools actually in their neighborhood were brought in from the other side of town to ensure a racial balance. And they were told that they were part of “forced” integration. However, the classes were really segregated by neighborhood, and not academic ability. That did not do much to improve anything in the race relations department, particularly as this was a town that hadn’t quite grasped the fact the war was over.

    It seemed to me then in that middle school social groups were based upon neighborhood – perhaps because of the school grouping us in classes by our street addresses. By high school (there was only one), it no longer mattered since we all had six different classes and were no longer with the same people all day long. Everyone met new people and discovered similar or new interests.

    As long race continues to be made an issue on applications, standardized tests, reparations bills, hiring practices, etc., people will continue to find reasons to accuse others of being racist.

  21. revolution2010 says:

    Rowe,
    An excellent point about applications, standardized tests, etc… I agree. If we can get enough people in the right places, maybe that will all fade away as well… here is to the revolution!

  22. Karl from Esom Hill says:

    I am from GA myself. Have lived there for most of my 45 year life. I can tell you from living in other places though that racism and I mean BAD racism is not just a GA problem. It’s also not one sided. If you go to New Orleans, you will see a hell of a lot of Black racism against Whites, VietNamese, Indians, or anyone else that are not black. I know this from living there and being in the school system there for 2 years. Racism will have to be solved by both sides. For a black man to call me a racist because I don’t agree with him is an insult! And if you don’t want me to use the N word, then don’t use it yourself when you’re with your friends. I sure wouldn’t want to be called that. But if you look you will see that word in music, and all other various forms of entertainment. If it’s a no-no to say then don’t say it at all. Where I came from in 1970’s GA, there weren’t many black people, so I did’nt know to be racist. To me they were just people. I learned racism in N.O.. After I grew up, I realized that N.O. was not the way the rest of the world was. As a matter of fact, neither is the rest of Louisiana. But, because of my experience there, I developed a few racist views that I had to revise later on. As I said racism is a two sided problem that will only be solved by both sides coming together. You cannot fix a problem if only one side admits to errors.

  23. I suffered a culture-shock back in 1984. It was the year I moved from an all white suburb of Cleveland, Ohio, into the city proper. I had taken a job working for the City’s EMS as a Paramedic, and it was the beginning of the end of my naivety. Prior to moving in 84′, I had never encountered many black people. We had 2 in our High School, and one of the two became a friend of mine. His being black didn’t make any difference to me. Craig was a cool guy and we got along, period, end of story. However, things changed drastically when I moved into the city. I suddenly found myself in an environment with a lot of hostility and animosity and my first response to that was confusion and frustration. I honestly couldn’t comprehend why I was being treated as the enemy by the very same people I was there to help. Hardly a shift passed when I wasn’t referred to as “White boy”, White bread”, “Cracker”, or some other derogatory comment. In those situations when we were faced with a violent OD, or assault victim who felt he had to save-face by being uncooperative and combative with us, we had to restrain them for their own safety as well as ours, In those instances, I would be the recipient of the comment, “you wouldn’t be treating me like this is I was white”. It never failed. There was no reasoning with them, at least, I couldn’t reason with them; but my black partners, more often that not, could. It wasn’t that my black partners said anything I hadn’t already said, it was simply a matter of credibility. My black partner was “one of them”, whereas; I was one of the others. The Coup de grace came during a difference of opinion with one of my closest partners. My partner and I were having a disagreement, and it came to the point where I said to him “Can’t I have a different point of view with you, without it having to turn into a racial issue?” He answered, “No.” I was stunned. I had worked with him for years, we had become close friends and I was absolutely floored. I said to him, “Do you mean to tell me, that anytime a white person has a difference of opinion with a black person that it’s due to racism?” He replied, “Yes”. It was at that point that I threw up my hands and simply gave up on the idea that having normal racial relations is something that will probably never happen in my life time. Is it any wonder that white people shy away from getting into conversatons about race with black people? Even if we say “the right thing”, what ever that might be, we are not right. You can’t reason with a person that has been instructed from birth, that you are the enemy and can’t be trusted. I’ve tried until I’m blue in the face. So, Mr. Holder, until the playing field is level, you can probably forget any open, honest and frank dialong about race in this country.

  24. B.C. – Simply…WOW!

  25. What Kathy said. I read that and was amazed but given the way things are in this country I can’t say that I am surprised.

  26. Kid Warrior MS says:

    All,

    I think a lot of the problems are a direct result of the civil war and the reconstruction period directly after. Because of industrialization slavery would have died out and there wouldn’t have been such friction if rights and equality wouldn’t have been shoved down the south’s throat. It was already starting to die out around the world and being considered an unfavorable practice ( which it is ) by countries that traded with the south it would have gone away and integration probably would have just happened in a more natural way. Not reading a history book I think has done the most damage to the black community. They do not understand The war was not about their ancestors.The south’s reasons for going to war were very similar to the colonies reason for going to war with england. As mean as it may sound the truth is we took them from a continent that is still to this day rife with tribalism and unevolved human values that have kept sub-saharra africa for the most part an uneducated poor and disease filled wasteland. Human respect is the first step on the road to equality and respect has to be earned.

  27. Karl from Esom Hill says:

    Kid Warrior,
    You are right in everything that you have said about history. Being a history fanatic myself, I can verify everything you have stated. The problem is, the history is being rewritten and taught by liberal teachers and professors to say that the Civil War started over Slavery and those nasty Southerners would have never turned loose of their slaves if Abe Lincoln the Great hadn’t made them. I, personally, don’t think any man should own or lord over another. BUT, I also don’t think I owe Anyone anything because my ancestors might have had their ancestors as slaves. I have never owned slaves and I don’t believe I owe them a damn thing. On the same track none of them have ever BEEN slaves either! The ones who who think this way need to get a clue and a life.

  28. There are many bills getting pushed through the House right now that American citizens are not catching or noticing because we are all floored over the $800 billion stimulus of last week, and now the $410 billion of yesterday. If citizens think Holder’s statements to the Justice Department were inflammatory and counterproductive to racial issues, then what will some of these bills do if they come to pass?

    As for history, my students were shocked when they read one of Lincoln’s campaign speeches, and his first inaugaral address…in their textbooks, no less.

  29. US Weapon and BC,

    Thank you both for your input. First, US Weapon. Thanks for the apology. I certainly accept and agree with you about how people see the President. People did the same thing with the Clintons.

    As to BC, you’re mostly right in what you say. That is not always the case but it seems that the majority of the time it is and the only way we as a country will achieve true racial and gender equality is when we can look at each other and say “I think you’re wrong about this or that” without it becoming a race or gender war. If we honestly looked at this situation, if Mr. Holder had been Caucasion American and said what he said, the NAACP, ACLU, NOW, and any other victims rights groups would have been calling for his resignation and a public apology which he has yet to make and frankly, I’m not holding my breath to see if it will happen.

    As a Caucasian American who’s been the victim of reverse racism and sexism, I really get tired of the rhetoric (what a nice word for bullcrap). I’m not a racist or sexist when I say this and refuse to accept this title.I’m being a realist and it’s time people like Mr. Holder “get real” themselves. When I’ve been mistreated because I’ve been shy and not the most comfortable with asserting myself, many times I’ve been essentially told to get over it. Well, folks what do ya think I feel.

  30. Karl from Esom Hill says:

    I do not believe in the Politically Correct nomenclature that has been put on us by Racial groups. It’s not African, Hispanic, Asian, Caucasion, Scottish, Irish, Mexican, OR Martian American. We are all simply AMERICANS! It pisses me off for someone to all me “white boy\man” and then turn around and expect me to call them ________ American. Maybe you ain’t entirely black, but I also ain’t entirely white either. For sure, this racial garbage is starting to be a real drag. Can’t we all just get along?

  31. Of course, the labels “American”, “Canadian”, “Mexican”, “British”, “Chinese”, etc. are just as ridiculously divisive (and just as useful to the Evil Overlords). It’s all about “Us vs. Them”.

  32. BC,
    I can definately relate to your story. I had a similar incident this last week. I’ll keep it short because I’m on a small island here in the Pacific, its 0430 and I’ve gotta get moving for work. Here’s what happened: Last Sunday, me, two white liberals (teachers) and the EEO HR rep, an African American woman that I consider a friend, were discussing Holders remarks, Diveristy Trainng, etc. HR rep mentioned jokingly that she had a group of employees who REALLY needed some diversity training. She and the two liberals were making sounds to the effect that people really should know better by now. So I piped up that the folks probably DO know better, but are probably feeling somewhat resentful. I mentioned that there’s a lot of resentment out there. Non of them believed me. I told them that quite frequently I get emails expressing that sentiment. They all claimed not to know of this and I believed them. What white person would let on about those feelings to an black person, or flaming liberal? Fast forward three days. I got an email supposedly recapping the Michael Richards court case. So, just to inform her of what’s out there, I fowarded it to her. I mentioned that I was sending it to her because I felt she was interested in seeing other perspectives on the issue. Yes, there were some offensive words in there, but not just words for blacks, but whites as well, but it also did a good job of expressing the double standard. My objective of sending her this was not to offend but to demonstrate that there is an ever increasing amount of resrntment from whites toward the whole Diveristy issue, and that more diveristy training is not what’s needed to improve relations. I didn’t even get that far. Needless to say, I got THE phone call from the HR Rep. Fortunately, I was able to apologize profusely enough, and so far, I still have my job. But from now on, I just won’t go there. I’m in the process of making her a dress, and I will smile, pretend none of this happened, make her the dress, and when its done, I’ll smile and say hello when I see her and just keep moving. I can’t risk losing my job. I’m done trying to have black friends. Its like walking through a minefield. I just can’t keep doing it. So I’ll be polite, respectful, and stay as far away as possible. Its sad that I feel I must do this, because most of them are good people, but if they become offended and have decided that if you’re white you are WRONG, regardless. So, since I can’t afford to be unemployed, dragged to court, etc., I’ll just avoid them as much as possible. Am I a coward? Yep, damn right. I can’t afford not to be.

  33. Cyndi, sorry about your experience at work. I agree with you completely, I have learned to avoid them as much as possible, if they iniatiate a conversation and show respect for me, I will do the same for them. But friends? I think not. My husband is a truck driver, and forced to mostly eat at fast food places, due to parking, he went into an Arby’s today, all black employees, and the woman said to him, what do you want? That is rude, he says the country is a lot more racist since the election, blacks have an attitude. They are more racist than we are. Diversity training? what a crock!!!!

  34. Forgot to say in my previous post, what an awesome web site, I am learning so much. Thank you so much USWeapon for your great read.

Trackbacks

  1. […] A Nation of Cowards… or Realists? « Stand Up For America […]

