Passing of Ed Freeman, Medal of Honor Recipient

Just A Citizen passed this on to me in the form of an email. Not a random forward, but a “hey did you see this”. I wanted to include it as a quick post so that everyone gets to see it. The email included a very large “Shame on the Media” at the bottom. I didn’t include it here. I am not so much in the mindset of being upset with the media for not covering it. I merely thought that a true American hero deserves a moment on my blog. So I am posting this with no intent other than to share it will all of you. 

You’re a 19 year old kid. You’re critically wounded, and dying in the jungle in the Ia Drang Valley ,

 11-14-1965, LZ X-ray, Vietnam . Your infantry unit is outnumbered 8 – 1, and the enemy fire is so intense, from 100 or 200 yards away, that your own Infantry Commander has ordered the MediVac helicopters to stop coming in.

 You’re lying there, listening to the enemy machine guns, and you know you’re not getting out. Your family is 1/2 way around the world, 12,000 miles away, and you’ll never see them again. As the world starts to fade in and out, you know this is the day.

Then, over the machine gun noise, you faintly hear that sound of a helicopter, and you look up to see an un-armed Huey, but it doesn’t seem real, because no Medi-Vac markings are on it…

Ed Freeman is coming for you. He’s not Medi-Vac, so it’s not his job, but he’s flying his Huey down into the machine gun fire, after the Medi-Vacs were ordered not to come.

He’s coming anyway.

And he drops it in, and sits there in the machine gun fire, as they load 2 or 3 of you on board.

Then he flies you up and out through the gunfire, to the Doctors and Nurses.

And, he kept coming back…. 13 more times….. And took about 30 of you and your buddies out, who would never have gotten out.

Medal of Honor Recipient Ed Freeman

Medal of Honor Recipient Ed Freeman

Medal of Honor Recipient, Ed Freeman,died last Wednesday at the age of 80, in Boise , ID ……

May God rest his soul……

I bet you didn’t hear about this hero’s

passing, but we sure were told a whole

bunch about some Hip-Hop Coward

beating the crap out of his “girlfriend”

 

My condolences to Ed’s family and friends. More men such as this should be recognized instead of our glorification of the elite in Hollywood, who often are nothing more than mere entertainers with heads far bigger than the brains contained therein. R.I.P. Mr. Freeman.

Comments

  1. Bama dad says:

    He died in Aug. 2008

  2. esomhillgazette says:

    My Uncle Paul served toward the end of WW2 and through the entire Korean War. He was at the Chosin Reservior. He was an Infantryman. After the Korean War he got out because he never wanted to fight anyone ever again. He never talked much about it and we didn’t ask. My Uncle Paul died at 76 of a Heart Attack. After his death, we his family discovered that he had won several medals in Korea including Purple Hearts (2), 2 Bronze Stars and a Silver Star.

    I have always been amazed that he never said a thing about his awards or even how he got them. It took his death for this fact to come out. He is my true definition of a hero, like Mr. Freeman. He was such an Humble man. He did not consider himself a hero, just a man who did what needed to be done to help save his buddies.

    I think my Daddy said it best when another was saying as how he always wished he had served in Vietnam. Daddy told him not to be ashamed of not having to go. Just be glad you never HAD to.

    War is a terrible thing. I am proud to have served my Country. And men such as Ed Freeman and my Uncle Paul should be honored by the Nation they served with distinction.

  3. Thank you JAC & US for sharing this. Men like this should be recognized and honored. And to all you who have server, my thanks.

  4. Kristian says:

    US,

    I’m not real sure that I agree with you about not blasting the media for not covering this. Maybe if they covered more stories like this instead of the empty bubbleheaded crap they cover now more people might take pride in what our country stands for instead of running it down. Maybe if we had heros that were actually worthy of the title we’d be in just a little better shape than we are now.

  5. Black Flag says:

    He’s immortal now in the movies “We were Soldiers” so his story will continually be told.

    • Sfc Dick says:

      Snake

      as he pulls a pistol and sticks it in a senior officers face after conducting those medivacs untill the light ran out( i paraphrase) ” you’ve got the balls to face me, but you don’t have the balls to face the enemy, you get in my face again and I’ll kill you”

      The Army has been doing it’s damndest to kill men, Warriors like Snake ever since.

  6. US Weapon,

    An appropriate place and an appropriate weekend to post this.

    I just got back from the funeral Mass for S/Sgt. Christian Buenos Galdos in Paterson NJ.

    Sgt. Gal;dos, 25, was one of the four killed last week in Iraq by the deranged soldier. Sgt. Galdos and his family, Mom, Dad, two brothers and a sister immigrated to the United States from Peru in 1993.

    Sitting there, at a Spanish Mass I asked myself why I was there? I always do when I attend one of these things. The answer more or less flowed this time. Here’s it is.

    “He who sheds his blood for my flag and his life for my home and country is now and forevermore my brother. I will honor and respect him for the rest of my life”.

    With apologies to Bill Shakespeare

    Happy Memorial Day all, I’ll be at the parade in Glen Rock with Troop 27, Iaopaugh District, Northern NJ Council. BSA.

  7. Barberian says:

    But for the grace of God and men like Ed Freeman… Go I!

  8. Now days, hero’s are not hard to come by, I see them everyday in the Marines, and with some in the Army, whom I have had the honor to serve with. For those who don’t understand why we chose not to talk about it, how do you explain what can only be experienced, and those are types of things we don’t want to tell our family about. Even for those who have shared blood on the battlefield, words need not be spoken, a simple glance in the eyes tells each other, “thank you” and “I understand”. We love our country. Thank you for recongnizing a hero.

  9. roy chow says:

    Kristian said
    “I’m not real sure that I agree with you about not blasting the media for not covering this.”

    I think it’s been overlooked but the real tragedy in this story is how some people have the gall to prostitute the fine story of Mr. Freeman’s heroism and his passing away to attack the “liberal media”. If you look, Mr. Freeman passed away on August 2008.

    In previous versions of this email, 1)it cited that Mr. Freeman died the same day as Paul Newman (09/27/08), 2) corresponded with the Chris Brown beating of girfriend Rihanna (02/25/09) and now (WOULD YOU BELIEVE) 3) that his passing was ignored by the “liberal media” because he died the same day as Michael Jackson (06/25/09)!!!!!

    Shame on anyone who would prostitute Mr. Freeman because they have an issue with the media. Do your part. Stop passing those ****** emails without checking the facts!!!!

  10. Dave Gilbert says:

    It is men like Ed Freeman that make this country great.Everyone could learn from Eds Actions and sacrifices. Ed didn’t do it to get a medal or try and become famous.Ed did it because he felt it was his duty to the men in the field, his brothers. If he’d thought about it a second time he’d have probably still done it with or without a second chopper. May god bless Ed and his family and keep them safe.

  11. Great idea, but will this work over the long run?

