Labor Day Resting…. Sort Of

Labor Day. For most of the world an extra day spent with family, enjoying the last of summer. But for USWeapon, another day spent at work. Just like every other holiday. I don’t get them or the weekends off. So while most of you have today to rest, I do not. So I am taking a bit of a holiday from the blog for the night by offering some quick thoughts on other topics out there. Kind of like an open mic without the open mic part, lol. I can tell you that part one of the health care reform series is 95% done and should be posted tomorrow night. I look forward to getting into that debate. So here are a couple of quick thoughts from me…

Godric Cropped #1 – First let me wish everyone a happy Labor Day. I hope you are all enjoying some time with family and friends. Mrs. Weapon has the day off, which means more time with the new puppy. I know some of you were asking about the puppy. We have a new puppy, Canine Weapon, who’s real name is Godric (named after a vampire). We have discussed getting a puppy for about two years. We finally decided to do so. We had originally intended to get one of several pure breed dogs. However, when the time came, we decided that the right thing to do was to go the the shelter and rescue a dog. There are so many there looking for homes and adoption is their only chance at life. So Mrs. Weapon, my son, and I visited several shelters. When we visited with Godric, he came into the room and immediately came over and laid down with his head in my lap. And we knew we had found our new family member.

He is, as best we can tell, a mix of half Staffordshire Terrier and half pit bull. For the record a pit bull is a breed made by combining Staffordshire Terrier and American Bulldog. So I guess that makes Godric technically 75% Staffordshire and 25% American Bulldog. He is what they call “Brindle” colored, meaning Black or Dark Brown with Orange Stripes like a tiger. He is 6 months old and is perhaps the sweetest new puppy I have ever had. He does like to chew, and he is a little rambunctious, but he is a great addition to our family. He has already learned to walk directly beside me at all times when out and about, and in another two months could probably take walks without a leash, although I would never do that. He does not have a single ounce of meanness or aggression in him. I am sure that I will continue to share pictures and stories with you all about Godric and his adventures with our 24 pound Mancun cat.

#2 – I am interested in what people think of the Van Jones resignation. Not in whether you liked him or not. I don’t think anyone feels he was a good pick for the position he was in. But I am interested in everyone’s thoughts about the fact that Glenn Beck was basically the reason this guy lost his job. The group organizing the boycott of Beck was a group affiliated with Van Jones. The media gave absolutely zero coverage about Jones. I heard a ridiculous stat today that in searching the news sources of the MSM, none of them had written anything about Van Jones in the last three weeks. With all the huff surrounding Jones, driven by Beck, the MSM completely didn’t even acknowledge the information Beck was uncovering. No mention at all. Should Beck be villified for singling out Van Jones? Just wondering what people think. I am with Ray, I think the guy had no qualifications to hold the spot he held. I do think he was a radical opportunist, but I am overall simply glad the guy has lost his legitimacy. Because I don’t think he is a good person, under my definitions.

#3 – From a Fox News article:

Terrorist Returns Home a HeroSon of Libyan leader Muammar al-Qaddafi branded British politicians questioning the release of the man convicted of the Lockerbie bombing as “disgusting” and “immoral.” In an exclusive interview with Sky News, Saif al Islam came to the defense of British Prime Minister Gordon Brown and his “friends” behind the release of Abdel Baset al Megrahi.

Brown has faced pressure over the extent of his involvement in prisoner transfer negotiations, but asked directly if he had an input in the talks, the London-educated Libyan replied: “No, no, no.” He attacked critics of al Megrahi’s release, saying: “Politicians, both in the UK and America, are trying to use this human tragedy — both Mr Megrahi and the families — for their own political agenda. It’s a tragedy. It’s completely immoral.

I am really up in the air on this whole bit of nonsense. Let me first say I don’t really give two tears in a bucket about the fact that this terrorist is dying of cancer. The entire idea that for the killing of hundreds of people, he only spent 8 years in jail is baffling to me. And to be released on the ground of compassion makes no sense. What compassion did he have for the people on the plane he blew up? He should have rotted and died in prison. But where I am really troubled are all the accusations surrounding the circumstances of his release.

Rumors swirl about how this was about oil, his release ensuring that the UK would have access to oil from Libya. Accusations of bribes to the prison doctors in order to get a diagnosis that said death in three months. IT is all so convoluted. I am unsure what to believe at this point.

What I can believe is the welcome that he got when he returned to Libya. Libya has been pretty quiet since the days of threatening the US against crossing the “line of death” resulted in our bombing Libya and “accidentally” killing Muammar al-Qaddafi’s daughter. But the reaction here speaks volumes of the distaste Libyans still have for the West, especially the United States.

Comments

  1. If you would have asked me – (and there is no reason why you should have) – I would have recommended a German Shepherd as they are the best home protectors that there is. But then, that is just my opinion, which doesn’t mean anything in the long run . . . 😉

    • G.A.

      German Sheperd was on our short list. When we get to the point where we have more time and land we will get more dogs, and a GS is probably one of the ones we are interested in. Mrs. Weapon loves that breed, along with labs.

    • Funny thing .. Back in WWII, people used to kick dachshunds if they saw one on the grounds that it was a “German” breed.. I don’t think quite as many people used to kick German shepherds though.. just a thought..

    • Kristian Stout says:

      I own a German Shepherd, his name is Shadow and he is momma’s baby. They really are herd dogs. I would suggest that if you do eventually get one US, that you get a female as the males tend to get a little aggressive. All in all though, they are wonderful animals and I wouldn’t trade mine.

  2. Chris Devine says:

    We have national holidays for:

    The first day of the year,
    a slain civil rights leader,
    our first president,
    casualties of war,
    the anniversary of our independence from England,
    workers,
    an explorer who never set foot on the continent of North America,
    veterans,
    a mythological meeting with the former occupants of this continent,
    and a pagan winter solstice celebration repackaged as the birthday of a deity.

    How come we don’t have a holiday for business owners and investors? Here’s one possible answer:

    http://www.salon.com/opinion/feature/2009/09/07/labor_day/index.html

    • Chris Devine says:

      Why can’t we have a three-day weekend every month like they do in Canada? Instead of two in January why don’t we have one each in March, April and June? I suggest a holiday for teachers (Spring Break seems like a logical time), another holiday for public servants (like policeman, fireman, doctors and nurses), and one for parents (that isn’t just an excuse to buy flowers, greeting cards and bad ties).

      To keep the ‘wealth creators’ happy we could celebrate the beginning of the fiscal year in addition to the calendar year (who really cares about Columbus anyway).

    • My definition of a holiday is one you get off from work for.

      New Years
      MLK (when I lived in the midwest we didn’t get this one)
      Easter
      Memorial Day
      Independence Day
      Labor Day
      Thanksgiving
      Christmas

      I understand that if you work for the government you get a ton more off. I wonder if GM gets all those days off because they are government owned?

      The Government Can!: http://www.tangle.com/view_video.php?viewkey=25600beeea6fdbf843ed
      My 12 year old daughter showed me this video. She knew all the words.

      • Oops wrong video link! That’s my fault for not checking the link a 12 year old sent me.

        http://www.tangle.com/view_video.php?viewkey=37c4b3685c84e75f4b78&sp=1

        • Murphy's Law says:

          Priceless! Thanks for sharing! And give a hug to your daughter for me…..I think she’s great!

        • In an effort to be fair and balanced, this clip should be shown immediately following BO’s speech tomorrow!

        • Chris Devine says:

          That video has all the attributes of a marketing jingle:
          it’s colorful,
          it’s catchy,
          it’s based on a crowd favorite,
          and it’s full of exaggeration and sparkling generalities.

          Once again, I find it odd that religious conservatives have no trouble using government to dictate their particular religious agenda, but will fight any government involvement in business. Somehow between Jesus Christ and Max Weber it became acceptable to be a rich Christian. Whatever happened to the “turn the other cheek, give ’til it hurts” Christianity that I grew up with?

          • Talk about exaggeration and sparkling generalities…

            I don’t advocate pushing a religious agenda using the government. As far as rich Christians, I can tell you that what we are supposed to do and what we do are two very different things. Call it hypocrisy if you’d like, but it doesn’t change the fact that we have an idea of what is right and we try to live up to it. That’s a bit simplistic, and I do think a lot of people don’t try hard enough, but I gotta defend them from such a vile attack.

            Peace!

            • Chris Devine says:

              “Vile attack?” Really? Are you sure you don’t mean ‘apropos?’ From what I remember Jesus was pretty specific about a lot of things (especially regarding charity and forgiveness).

              You’re right about one thing though. I will always call it hypocrisy when someone says and expects one thing while doing something completely different. But that’s just me.

            • I don’t know where most of you come from, but where I come from we see Christians as still being human

              With the same human faults and weaknesses and everyone else. The difference is spiritual.

              I personally also see most famous TV Preachers as people exploiting christianity for the money they can make. (with a BIG exception for Billy Graham)

              Being saved and being a christian is between you and God. Not you and the gullible public who you use to make money off of.

              The sad fact of the times is that ther are too many of these fools in the world. That leaves the opprtunity for non-christians to rant about the few idiots.

  3. Greatergoodcs says:

    #1) GREAT picture/GREAT Dog. Dogs rule and are deserving of unconditional love (children lose that right about the age of 14 or so).

    #2) Glen Beck should be tied to Keith Olbermann and the two of them dropped on America’s enemies (two of the most moronic carnival barkers on television); they keep the Republican v. Democrat nonsensical debate alive when Ralph Nader (or those like him) are the only people who can change America for the better.

    #3) The Lockerbie bomber should have been released … from 40,000 feet over Libya with an anvil strapped to his back. As to the celebrations going on at the airport, that’s where a 5,000 bomb should’ve landed about a minute after their hero.

    • Richmond Spitfire says:

      Hi GG…

      In total agreement with #3.

      Thank you!
      RS

      • Greatergoodcs says:

        I don’t expect support on #2 but #1?

        Come on … doggies are so cool!

        • Richmond Spitfire says:

          Awww…GG,

          I had started a long diatribe about how I would affectionately call Godric “Spot”-on Weapon… and how USW should have gotten a Chihuahua…but then I erased it!

          Yes…Dawgs are great!

          Best Regards,
          RS

      • Dogs are awesome! I used to have a Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier. This, of course, is the very best type of dog (Otisius, RIP), but Canine Weapon looks pretty cute too. And absent getting my dream pet (a cheetah!), I’d take a dog as a pet any day.

        That said, I could not disagree with #3 more. Much as I would love to execute those who cannot be rehabilitated and committed sufficiently severe crimes, killing him makes him a martyr. This fails the test for an acceptable use of the death penalty – it fails to serve as a deterrent, and may actually encourage others.

        • Greatergoodcs says:

          Here’s where I’m a hawk (death penalty). Of course there has to be conclusive evidence of guilt, but once that is established (without a 20 year delay in appeals; 5 would seem more than sufficient), to hell with deterence. How about a little revenge (yes, I’m sicilian and I don’t subscribe to the theory: “When you’re planning revenge, remember to dig two graves.”

          Let them have their martyrs (any religion). The guy killed a lot of innocent people in the most cowardly way. Put him through a meat grinder if dropping him from 40,000 feet with an anvil strapped to his back is too dramatic. Make him a sausage (in slow motion).

          • “Let them have their martyrs”

            Seriously? If you give them their martyrs, they will be models for future terrorists. If you “martyr” them too, more will follow. You give up the high ground and you have a far harder battle ahead.

            Try looking at things from both angles. Yes, it might be more satisfying to just kill the guy (cheaper too), but that doesn’t make it the right strategic move.

            • Greatergoodcs says:

              I agree with looking at it from both angles, but I seriously doubt martyrs (new ones) will make a difference. I view all religions as fanatical (I was raised a catholic, but am atheist now). That doesn’t mean I require them done away with, just that I see more harm from them than good. That aside, fundamentalists are not going to be swayed by a lack of martys from their cause (which now happens to be death to all Americans). They have the good old Koran to perceive as they wish (the same way many use the Bible to justify their causes). This is where I agreed with Bush (that something had to be done–I would have preferred a few dozen air strikes to an invasion and it would’ve been great had he done it where Bin Laden was at least supposed to be–but any terrorist organization fighting whatever form of jihad doesn’t require new martyrs to pump up their adrenaline. They’re already there.

            • So what’s a little more gasoline on the fire? Heck, they hate us anyway, why not give them some more reasons? Is that your logic?

              I’m not necessarily a huge fan of religion, but Islam is not a violent religion per say (any more so than the old or new testament, anyway). Is is unfair to blame religion for this. It is not about religion. It is about religion being used as an excuse for a group of people to use another group of ignorant people as tools. This is about power and nothing else.

              You think Bin Laden is a religious nut? I’ll bet you anything he’s read the Koran cover to cover and didn’t miss that part about letting the infidel live his life unmolested. He chose to attack us because that is what he wanted to do. It had nothing to do with religion other than that it was the excuse he chose to use. If he hadn’t had the Koran, he would claim politics, economics, race or something else entirely. It never would have just been that he plain doesn’t like us and that attacking us builds up his stature and makes him more important and powerful.. I would not be stunned to find that he does not actually believe in Allah at all.

              • In the name of Allah, the Beneficent, the Merciful.

                “109.1”: Say: O unbelievers!

                “109.2”: I do not serve that which you serve,

                “109.3”: Nor do you serve Him Whom I serve:

                “109.4”: Nor am I going to serve that which you serve,

                “109.5”: Nor are you going to serve Him Whom I serve:

                “109.6”: You shall have your religion and I shall have my religion.

              • Richmond Spitfire says:

                Hi Ma’the’us,

                You know something…You have presented a compelling and well-thought argument that has made me re-think my position.

                My emotions do call for GG’s idea of punishment.

                Your appeal has hit home with my logic. I grant that you are correct in this situation. I don’t like it (not that you are correct Matt) because that man deserves exactly what he put those poor victims through.

                I think that you may be correct in stating that he would become a martyr and that in this case it is more punishing for him to languish to his death in jail than to meet his glory with his Allah.

                Thank you for the insight!

                Best Regards,
                RS

              • Greatergoodcs says:

                You can use logic to dispel any and everything (my beef with BF, for instance). This has to do with self-defense. Clinton used the FBI (great idea; let me know when they catch Whitey Bulger, something I’m very familiar with). His response got us one terrorist attack after another (and I do blame his lack of response for the decision by Bin Laden to go after the towers a 2nd time (don’t forget it was during Clinton’s term when they hit it the first time—we were lucky was all).

                “Is is unfair to blame religion for this.”

                Good point, but I wasn’t blaming religion, Matt. I’m saying their justification was born of their religion. I think I stated that fundementalists didn’t need new martyrs.

                “You think Bin Laden is a religious nut? I’ll bet you anything he’s read the Koran cover to cover and didn’t miss that part about letting the infidel live his life unmolested. He chose to attack us because that is what he wanted to do.”

                Well, here’s where we disagree. He needed religion to use as a vehicle and fundamentalism was just perfect for him.

              • I can use logic only to derive logical conclusions. That they are not necessarily what you or I would like is irrelevant. Start from first principles and see where they take you. The problem I have with Mr. Flag is that he and I have different first principles. As he was so fond of point out about set theory, I cannot supply logical arguments that prove the underlying premises, thus we reach impasses. Can you supply me with the principles which you use to conclude that vengeance is justifiable?

                He needed religion to use as a vehicle and fundamentalism was just perfect for him.

                See, here exactly is my point. He used religion as a vehicle – an excuse – to do what he wanted to anyway. Fundamentalism gave him the tools he needed to manipulate young men into sacrificing their lives to attack us. But it was not the cause of the attack, merely the facilitator.

              • I see that you argue that this is about self defense, but that does not hold water. If it is for self defense, we would not be adding more martyrs to their cause. For self defense purposes, the best avenue is to lock them away like common criminals for the remainder of their lives so that they cannot serve as positive examples to others. The argument that they hate us already does not justify giving more cause for hate. Thus, the conclusion I arrive at is that this is about extracting Old Testament style justice. So, as I said above, please provide the logical grounds on which you support this.

              • Greatergoodcs says:

                What’s the difference? Nobody is suggesting we attack the religion. I fail to see your point.

        • While I don’t ascribe to revenge, there is something to say for justice. Sure it is compassionate, but is it really just to let a killer like that free because he is sick?

          • Nope. They should have given him the best medicine available, helped him fight off the cancer, and live to be 100. Then, and only then, after he’s spent decades in prison as the price for his actions, should he be allowed to die of natural causes.

            Terrorists aren’t necessarily afraid of dying, but you bet your ass they’re afraid of rotting in prison for decades.

            Perhaps after 40 years in jail, he’d have a revelation and could repent and offer his wisdom to those who would follow in his path. At the very least, nobody could say that we killed him or that he’s a martyr.

            • I find this line of thinking a strong argument against the death penalty in general as well as in this case. My only reservation is that the individual should really stay in prison for the rest of his life.

            • I agree that people sentenced to life in prison should spend the rest of their lives in prison.

              There is some question on the efficacy of the death penalty as a deterrent – I am ill-suited to judge on that point. However, if it is effective (and even then it would only be within specific bands), I’m ok with it.

              The most important thing to remember is that it is an irreversible action – if the man is later found to be innocent, you cannot simply release him from jail and apologize – he stays dead.

    • Murphy's Law says:

      #1- oh yeah.

      #2- sorry, disagree

      #3-LOL!!! I too agree with the death penalty once guilt is firmly established. That guy should have arrived back in Libya the same way his victims did- in a box.

      And deterrent? Of course the death penalty is a deterrent…..it sure deters the hell out the person executed, doesn’t it? How many murderers have we heard about who got out and murdered again?

      Even one is too damn many.

      • Hi, Murphy,

        #3 – No, sorry, I have to argue this one here. The guy isn’t being deterred from doing anything. He was never going to kill anyone sitting in a cell for the rest of his life – nobody here is suggesting letting him go. Killing him is simply superfluous. That is, you’re killing someone who doesn’t need to be killed. In my book, we call that murder. If by executing him, you create a deterrent to other would-be terrorists, then it’s ok, because, in doing so, you save innocent lives. If you drop him from an airplane, others will see this as proof of our evilness and it may lead them to follow in his footsteps and achieve martyrdom themselves.

        Thus: no upside + possible downside = net loss

        • Murphy's Law says:

          Sorry- I wasn’t clear in my post. I thought that #3 was funny, but not something we should actually do. It not only makes him a martyr, it makes us rather barbaric ourselves. And he didn’t receive the death penalty anyway, did he? Am I mistaken about that?…….IMO he should have died in prison and then sent back to Libya in a pine box.

          You are right, by sending him back to Libya, he is no longer deterred from helping plan another terrorist attack. And if he knows he is going to suffer a painful death from cancer, he might even decide to take out another few hundred people in a suicide attack…….

          And my point was about the death penalty in general- it may or may not deter others, but it deters the person executed. He or she will never commit the same crime again……

          • Greatergoodcs says:

            Sometimes Barbarism goes a long way (i hope that doesn’t read like “being a barber cutting hair”) … and sometimes being a little brutal in resposne sends a clear message. It was good the middle east knew we were no longer taking crap (ala Clinton) post 9-11, but Bush got his wires crossed and let a bunch of neocons ruin it (you’re not gonna spread democracy in the middle east unless you start over and that won’t happen without an all out nuclear war).

          • Oh boy, GG..

            Barbarism is never the answer unless it is a precisely calculated action, and even then, probably not. You cannot win by surrendering the moral high ground. Invading Afghanistan was a necessary response to eliminate the people responsible for the terrorism of 9/11. We needed to make it clear that no government can protect you from America. That’s not barbarism. Barbarism is torturing prisoners. Barbarism is dropping a man “from 40,000 feet over Libya with an anvil strapped to his back.” That is not warranted. And, yes, I agree, it will go a long way, but in the wrong direction.

            Consider, for perspective, how do you respond to the videos Al Queda sends out occasionally of them beheading American prisoners? Do you say to yourself “oh no, they’re too scary, I better surrender,” or do you say, “it’s now even more important that I beat them”? What makes you think they would respond to barbarism from us any differently?

            • Greatergoodcs says:

              “Barbarism is never the answer unless it is a precisely calculated action, and even then, probably not. You cannot win by surrendering the moral high ground. Invading Afghanistan was a necessary response to eliminate the people responsible for the terrorism of 9/11.”

              By logic, it was not a necessary response. By logic, we should have gone after ONLY those who participated in the attack (not too easy to distinguish, eh)? We needed to send a message to the entire Middle East (Libya, Lebanon, etc., included).

              “We needed to make it clear that no government can protect you from America. That’s not barbarism. Barbarism is torturing prisoners. Barbarism is dropping a man “from 40,000 feet over Libya with an anvil strapped to his back.” That is not warranted. And, yes, I agree, it will go a long way, but in the wrong direction.”

              Why would we make innocents suffer for the acts of a few? Nope, we had to assume collateral damage in attacking Al Qaeda and the Taliban. And I happen to subscribe to when in Rome, go Roman.

              “Consider, for perspective, how do you respond to the videos Al Queda sends out occasionally of them beheading American prisoners? Do you say to yourself “oh no, they’re too scary, I better surrender,” or do you say, “it’s now even more important that I beat them”? What makes you think they would respond to barbarism from us any differently?”

              I would’ve handled Abu Grahib in one feel swoop after the first beheading video. I would’ve assumed collateral damage, pulled my people out of the prison and flattened it. End of story.

            • The government of Afghanistan was offered, prior to our attack, the opportunity to turn over the leaders of Al Qaeda. They chose not to. In effect, they said, “we will protect these men, and if you wish to get to them, you much come through us.” Of course, going through them was not difficult, but that’s irrelevant. They made a choice.

              We cannot allow sovereign governments to protect those who attack us. In a perfect world, yes, we would have just killed those responsible and no one else, but that is not a viable solution – we had no means of achieving that goal. But yes, we did need to send a message and we did that too. Would you, were you in charge of a country, protect terrorists if you knew it would cost you control of your government? I think not.

              You would have destroyed a prison full of unarmed, jailed men and women? You would have killed hundreds of defenseless human beings? To what end, I ask you, to what end? Yes they are enemies, but are enemies not entitled to the same rights we demand for our troops? Have you flawless intelligence that they are all worthy of death? Does killing them prevent more violence, or does it enrage the population to hate us more and see these men and women as victims?

              • Greatergoodcs says:

                “The government of Afghanistan was offered, prior to our attack, the opportunity to turn over the leaders of Al Qaeda. They chose not to. In effect, they said, “we will protect these men, and if you wish to get to them, you much come through us.””

                So why the collateral damage if it was the government who was protected them? Why not send hit squads in to take out the government? Why an invasion?

                “We cannot allow sovereign governments to protect those who attack us.”

                Okay, so what about sovereign governments funding (or arming those who attack us)? Do we now attack Iran? Think about it, Mat. It’s a very grey area you’re trying to paint black and white. Either you accept collateral damage (the killing of absolute innocents) or you don’t doesn’t work if you claim it’s just a “sovereign government” doing the wrong.

                “Does killing them (those in the prison) prevent more violence, or does it enrage the population to hate us more and see these men and women as victims?”

                Probably not, but it sure sends a message regarding those cowardly beheadings. Once again, if you invade any sovereign nation, you’re not making friends. They don’t need another reason to hate you. You are totally uprooting their lives (why we shouldn’t have been in Iraq in the first place). Yet, once you make the decision to invade, you cannot handcuff yourself with logic. Logically there should never be war but there is/there are. Once you’ve crossed that line and invaded, what’s the point of worrying about making enemies?

  4. Canine Weapon says:

    How To Give a Cat a Bath

    1. Put both lids up and add 1/8 cup of pet shampoo to the water.

    2. Pick up the cat and soothe him while you carry him towards the bathroom.

    3. In one smooth movement, put the cat in the toilet and close both lids. You may need to stand on the lid.

    4. The cat will self agitate and make ample suds. Never mind the loud noises, the cat is actually enjoying this.

    5. Flush three or four times. This provides a “power-wash” and rinse”.

    6. Have someone open the front door of your home. Be sure that there are no people between the here and the front door.

    7. Standing behind as far as you can, and quickly lift both lids.

    8. The cat will rocket out out, streak through the room and run outside where he will dry himself off.

    9. The cat will now be sparkling clean.

    How To Give a Dog a Bath

    1. Turn on the sprinkler in the yard.

    2. Open door.

    Sincerely,
    Canine Weapon

    • Richmond Spitfire says:

      Spot-on, Spot Weapon!

    • Murphy's Law says:

      OTFLMAO!!!!!! I think I’m going to like Canine Weapon a lot…….he is adorable. Not to mention smart.

      The last dog I had was a long haired German Shepherd named Gideon….very sweet, but he hated other dogs and loved cats. I wish I had a video of him in our front yard, poking our cat Boomer (short for boomerang because he was a stray who kept coming back until we adopted him) with his nose until the cat would spring up and chase him around the yard. Cars coming by would stop, watching this huge dog being chased by a 12 lb cat. Then the cat would suddenly plop down in the yard, totally relaxed, and Gideon would start poking him again, and it would start all over. May Gideon rest in peace…..and we had Boomer for 9 months- he disappeared two days after I made an appointment to have him neutered, the day before the appt itself. True story.

    • Good Morning Canine Weapon

      Oh! That’s too funny on how to give a cat a bath. Thanks for the early morning laugh.

      We have 2 cats, a brother and sister, and God forbid if you drop water on them, but they won’t think anything of going out in the snow and romping in that to play hide and seek. That’s when we have snow of course.

      We have a Brindle Boxer named Bruno, and what a sweetheart he is. Dumber than a rock at times, but pretty smart in others. Can’t stand taking a bath, but turn on the hose, and he’s right there wanting to play in it. He gets along really good with our 2 cats, but every once in a while they give him a smack just to let him know where he stands.

      We had a weenie dog for 15 years, had to put him down a couple years ago due to really bad cancer. We also had another one who was half lab, and pit, and she was such a sweetheart as well. But she had a lot of problems. Diabetes, arthritis, thyroid problems that she was taking medication for. We were gone one day, when somebody came in our backyard and took her and our weenie dog. We got our Weenie dog back, but not our other one. Our weenie dog’s name was Rusty, and our other on was named Sienna.

      Good luck in your new home, I wish you many years of happiness and lot’s and lot’s of love.

      As for Van Jones resigning, I think it was the best thing he could have done. After reading several things on him, and seeing a few videos on him, he was way too radical of a person. But there are those who would say I am wrong here, and that I should have proof, and back up everything I say. I won’t mention any names, but I think they know who they are.

      Hope all will have a good Labor Day today.

      Judy

      • Judy. Anyone who could not find evidence all on their own must be deaf, dumb, and dumb. Any one who looked for 5 seconds on the net could find TONS of evidence supporting this.

        My question is how he got in his position without anyone, including Glenn Beck seeing it to begin with. Part of the answer lies in all the rest of the bulldookey going on at the time.

        They should start on the rest of them next. (I refer to the radicals in those positions, Jones ain’t the only one.)

        • Hi Esom

          What I said above was for one particular person, definitely NOT you Esom. But you’re right about finding all kinds of things about him on the internet. I was seeing all kinds of things on him yesterday, and still today.

          I agree too, that they should go after the rest of them who are the most radical. But, it seems like when I say something against this administration , I get slammed for it. I feel pitted against a rock and a hard place.

          BTW, hope you weekend was good.

          Judy

          • Hi Judy,

            I know how you feel about getting slammed for critisizing Obama. I know most folks here think I’m a nut job. So most of the time I don’t bother posting. I’d guess that at least half of my posts are not responded to anyway, which is better than than being slammed. I can tell myself that people are at least thinking about what I’ve posted. 😉

            About that Teardrop Memorial; I think I saw found out about it on American Thinker. We’ve had that memorial for three years and very few Americans know about it. With all the hulabahoo about a 9/11 memorial at Ground Zero, you’d think the media would have told people about this thoughtful gift from the Russian people.

          • Cyndi and Judy,

            I wanted to take a moment to respond, because I don’t want you to get the wrong idea. As far as responding to either of you, I often do ponder the things you write and with my limited time I often don’t take the time to respond. I apologize for that, as I would not want you to think that I don’t value or appreciate the contributions that you both make here. It really is nothing more than limited time. Some days it is all I can do to read all the comments and moderate the arguments!

            I know that it is tough to have Ray or others take you to task for the things that you say. The world of politics is a difficult one to participate in, even when just discussing things as we do here. Ray can tend to get a little “snarky” with you, but it seems to me that his intentions are good. The toughest thing for me when I first started discussing politics openly with others was learning that I was going to have to approach EVERY subject under the first impression that both sides are right, and work from there. If there is one piece of constructive criticism that I could add, it would be this: keep and open mind and a closed heart. If I or anyone here challenges what you are saying, just step back and think about their argument. Does it make sense? Is there a fallacy in their thinking? Is there one in yours? These are all questions I ask every time I am challenged.

            An example. The other day Ray challenged me on Harold Koh. I immediately was not happy with Ray, because I felt that he took some of what I was saying as more dramatic than I meant it. But I also read what he was offering in the way of evidence and logic with an open mind. Was the explanation he was offering possible? Could I have overlooked it? Did I do a good enough job analyzing the facts I presented? I looked at all these questions and realized there was some validity to what Ray was saying. It wasn’t a cave in. I still felt he was wrong with some of the things he said about me, but he was right about some others.

            The point is only that we should take this site to be the ultimate tool in our world. We can say what we think here and learn whether it has validity or not without any real repercussions. The only real repercussions are our own hurt feelings. If we decide up front that we are OK with being challenged in what we believe, then the hurt feelings are limited greatly. In the Ray example above, my feelings are not bothered a bit by Ray challenging my thoughts or my methods. The only thing that bothered me was his claim on my lack of honesty or integrity. Does that make sense?

            I value what both of you bring to the table here. You are both brutally honest and open with what you think and what you believe. And that is a great trait to have. An equally great trait is the ability to accept that everything you think could be wrong. That is what we all have to embrace. It forces us to analyze our position over and over and submit to reason and logic every time even when it changes a paradigm that we have lived with for years and years.

            I guess what I am trying to get across is that I really do value everything that you guys contribute. And I would like to see you, and everyone here on the site, always striving to approach every subject with an open mind and a willingness to accept criticism and really analyze our own thoughts and beliefs to see if they fit with logic and reason. You are both smart ladies. Never let pride get in the way of learning and growing and changing. I shamefully admit that for many years I did just that.

            USWeapon

            • Hey USW,

              I totally understand about the time limitation problem. I have it to. I’m perfectly willing to be open minded about comments on my opinions, provided they are constructive and not insulting. I have my pride but I also know that I don’t know everything. I’m perfectly willing to consider others points of view. I do try to understand but I sometimes feel that some individuals have a knee jerk reaction to what I’m saying. All too often, I don’t have the time or energy to go a few rounds arguing with someone who really isn’t interested in what I’m saying other than to tell me how wrong I am. I don’t see how you keep doing it everyday, USW. I’m glad you do though. Being able to visit this site and participate has made my everyday existance so much better. I’m not being a suck up, either. I live on a very small island with 1200 other Americans. I live in the Bachelor Quarters, eat in the chowhall, and have an ObamaBot boyfriend. I have to be very careful about pissing off the wrong people. Trouble makers are expedited off the island and onto the unemployment roles. I spend less time out and about, exposed to Leftists thereby giving me less opportuntiy to get myself in trouble. This is a good thing. 🙂 As for the boyfriend, I still have hope for him. He’s a good man but incredibly stubborn and must come to Jesus in own good time. I figure that if we find ourselves surviving on fish and coconuts he might reconsider his views. In the meantime, I have ya’ll! Thanks again for what you do. I appreciate it very much.

              • Where are you at Cyndi? My best Friend was in the Navy and was stationed on Diego Garcia for a while. You certainly don’t have to say publicly where you are. You can shoot me an email or not answer at all!

  5. I especially like the part where the cat “self agitates.” 🙂

  6. Hi All,

    #1 Great dog for the weapon family. Our dog, Wrigley, is a most cherished family member!

    #2 Middle of the night on a holiday weekend; one down many to go. Kudos to Beck for doing the vetting that no one else will do.

    #3 Some additional info coming out on the Lockerbie situation:

    http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2009/09/obama_knew_about_lockerbie_bom.html

    Enjoy the day everyone!

  7. Great Dog-I have an almost 12 month old black lab-and he too likes to chew, and to jump on furniture and to steal food and destroy plants but I love him anyway. My son got his brother from the same litter and I keep him during the week while he’s at work-never get two puppies at the same time-2 dogs at the same time great-but not two puppies-it’s like having a tornado hit your house-good thing they are so cute-one of them hit a steal gazebo with his head while they were running and actually bent it-didn’t hurt the dog thank goodness -but they are getting better-so I think I will keep them-I mean you can’t get rid of a family member now can you, but mostly because I love them and it’s really a lot of fun watching them play. Of course they really only misbehave when they are together and they’re together a lot. 🙂

    I swear that picture could have been taken at my mothers former house, which we just sold. I picked out that exact floor for her kitchen. You didn’t just move, did you.

  8. 1. Welcome Canine Weapon and congrats on your new family. You are a very lucky puppy! I know from experience that rescued dogs make the best pets because they are so grateful to have a loving home.

    2. I may get some flak for this but I don’t care. I appreciate what Glenn Beck does. His manner is pretty goofy but hey, he is a comedian at heart. I feel that he makes a lot of sense most of the time. I too, believe that O is a racist. And for VJ to go after him and claim to have caused all these sponsors to quit his show was a farce. GB was within his rights to investigate and expose VJ for what he is. I am damn tired of this administration usurping the constitution and appointing all these czars who only answer to O, and are able to spend billions of taxpayer dollars. And damn tired of the msm letting it go under the radar. Bill Kristol said yesterday on Fox News Sunday, that if people only watched msm news and read msm news, they would wake up to a surprise this morning at all the stink that has gone on with VJ. WH stated today that they didn’t ask for his resignation? Why the hell not? Jesus, Mary and Joseph!
    No I’m not really that religious but that beats me saying WTF all the time 😉

    3. No opinion, O and Hill knew about it, knew it was going to happen. I wish they had just let him rot in jail.

    Hope we’re all having a great day!

  9. Black Flag says:

    Working on emergency preparedness – watching via email – may respond later.

    Cheers!

    • Black Flag,

      Would love to hear more about your preparations.

      Also about the shopping trip of Mrs. Black Flag: what, where (chain stores, etc.),how much, how does she find the good deals.

      I saw a tip on a food preservation group the other day that the Church of LDS has a good site for emergency prep and they sell supplies:

      http://www.providentliving.org/

  10. Happy Labor Day All!

    Congrats to USW on your new family member!

    I’m with Willo when it comes to Glen Beck. He’s a comedian and all good comedy starts from the truth. I’m glad to see that Van JOnes’ attack on Beck totally backfired. As much as I hope Jones is out of the picture, I don’t believe he is. Obama CHOSE Jones. Does anyone think that Obama and Jones aren’t of one mind? What about Obama’s personal Blackberry? Doesn’t he still retain it? I’m very curious to know who he has private communication with. Has anyone else thought of that?

  11. Has anyone else heard of this gift from the Russian people? Its a memorial to the victims of 9/11. It was given to us in 2006. It is named The Teardrop Memorial…..

    http://www.911monument.com/history.cfm

    • Hi Cyndi

      I Never heard of it, and I don’t recall ever hearing or seeing anything about it on any of the news channels, or even reading about it in the newspaper. But, it was I think a very thoughtful and generous thing to do. If they did, I must have blocked it out or something. I only can remember what happened that day, which is coming up this Friday. Eight years have passed already. Doesn’t seem possible does it?

  12. Alert in Michigan says:

    JB said

    September 7, 2009 at 10:04 am
    While I don’t ascribe to revenge, there is something to say for justice. Sure it is compassionate, but is it really just to let a killer like that free because he is sick?

    Reply

    Mathius said

    September 7, 2009 at 11:02 am
    Nope. They should have given him the best medicine available, helped him fight off the cancer, and live to be 100. Then, and only then, after he’s spent decades in prison as the price for his actions, should he be allowed to die of natural causes.

    OK; so this brings me to a slightly different point. I know very little about the prison systems, either in the US or in the world, so some of you may be able to fill in some information with regard to the medical care available in prison. But, here’s my question:

    Should criminals imprisoned for life (or criminals on death row) have access to “the best medical care available”?

    From a purely economic view (leaving out the ethics for a moment) it seems like the less taxpayers (a.k.a. “we the people”) have to pay for an inmate’s care the better off we are. If a person is going to die in prison, why give them cancer treatments, heart bypass surgery, or other life-prolonging treatments?

    Again, I realize there are ethical arguments for medical treatment. But, what do you think about life-long inmates receiving life-prolonging medical care?

    • Hi Alert

      OOOOOOOOH! That’s a tough one. I see your point, But there is that oath that doctors took. On one hand you say, so what, let them die, but then on the other hand, if they aren’t going to be put to death, and just live their remaining life in prison, then why not treat them. Damn, this is hard. It’s hard for me because my son is in pre-med and will be going into medical school in another year or so, so I really feel conflicted about putting my true feelings and thoughts down.

      Isn’t it like with Susan Atkins who took part in killing Sharon Tate in 1969? I understand she has cancer as well I think she has, and came up for parole here a couple weeks ago, but was denied. I think, I’m not sure she’s pretty bad, but was still denied. I read where she slept through the 4 hour parole hearing because of the medication she is on.

      I feel the same way about child killers and rapists as well. I say, let them rot in jail, but the other side of me says treat them. If they can take a child’s life, or rape someone, then why let them live.

      If she, Susan Atkins was denied parole, but is still receiving treatments for her cancer, and is having to live the rest of her life no matter how short or long, I know this sounds like I feel sorry for her, I don’t, I say why not let them have their treatments so at least they can be made more comfortable.

      My conflictions about this is because, I feel if these people murdered someone, they had absolutely no feeling about the person, or people they killed, like with Susan Atkins, then my true feelings are, then f#^@ them, let them die, or rot in the hell for the remainder of their life. I know I sound contradictory here, but like I said, this is really hard for me.

      Maybe somebody here can say better what I said. I was only going by what I feel and think about this.

  13. First off I want to apologize to GreaterGood. I misunderstood waht you wrote as an attack at me and my kid. After reading it again I realize that that was not the case. You were simply being you. So I would like to take the time to apologize to you for the comments I made, especially to a new member of the site.

    You do have some radical ideas, but hell, then you probably think the same of most of us. Good luck and good blogging and I hope that you too had a good weekend.

    • Greatergoodcs says:

      Esom did you get my apology? I hope so. I did so a couple days ago.

      And thanks. Back to the grind today.

  14. Oh by the way. Our county is NOT going to show the speech of Obama, but the County above us, Floyd County, is. Not only that, but the essay is going to be REQUIRED and students will be graded on it. My question has to be WTF?????

  15. As Black Flag predicted? Gold…

    Gold Advances to $1,000 on Dollar’s Weakness, Inflation Hedge
    Share | Email | Print | A A A

    By Nicholas Larkin, Halia Pavliva and Kim Kyoungwha

    Sept. 8 (Bloomberg) — Gold futures climbed to $1,000 an ounce for the first time in more than six months as a weaker dollar and concern that inflation may accelerate boosted the precious metal’s appeal.

    The contract for December delivery touched exactly $1,000 on the Comex division of the New York Mercantile Exchange, taking this year’s rise to 13 percent. Immediate-delivery metal rose to $998.25 an ounce. Gold is set for a ninth yearly gain.

    Governments have cut interest rates and boosted spending to fight the worst recession since World War II, spurring investors to buy bullion as a hedge against potential inflation and debasement of currencies. The Dollar Index has lost 4.1 percent this year. Gold typically moves inversely to the U.S. currency.

    “There’s not many good options for investors to hedge against a declining dollar and rising inflation,” Hwang Il Doo, head of trading with KEB Futures Co., said today from Seoul. “Gold will rise to $1,100 an ounce by the end of the year, once physical demand from China and India adds fuel to the rally.”

    Gold last traded at more than $1,000 on Feb. 20, the first time the metal had breached that price since March 2008. Futures then retreated to as low as $865 on April 6. The December contract added 0.1 percent to $998.20 an ounce in New York at 10:53 a.m. in Singapore. Spot gold traded at $996.59.

    The metal’s advance boosted producers. Newcrest Mining Ltd., Australia’s largest gold-mining company, gained as much as 4 percent to A$33.86, and Lihir Gold Ltd., the second-largest, increased 4.7 percent. Zijin Mining Group Co., China’s largest producer, rose 4 percent in Hong Kong.

    Haven Investment

    Gold may be cementing its status as a haven investment as governments seek to flood the financial system with cash in an effort to haul the global economy out of a recession. The record for gold futures is $1,033.90 an ounce, reached March 17, 2008.

    “The reasons to own gold as an investment make sense,” Sydney-based Greg Gibbs, a Royal Bank of Scotland Group Plc strategist, said in advance of the metal’s gain to $1,000 today. “It is a hedge against policy makers losing control of fiscal and quantitative monetary policies.”

    The Dollar Index, a six-currency gauge of the dollar’s value, declined for a third day today.

    U.S. President Barack Obama has increased U.S. marketable debt to an unprecedented $6.78 trillion as he borrows to spur the world’s largest economy. Goldman Sachs Group Inc. predicts that the U.S. will sell about $2.9 trillion of debt in the two years ending September 2010.

    ‘Hint of Hyperinflation’

    “Money has been printed massively,” said investor Jim Slater, who was deputy chairman of Galahad Gold Plc before it liquidated in 2008. “Inflation will follow fairly soon” and there may be “a hint of hyperinflation. Even a hint will be very good news for gold,” said Slater.

    Crude-oil futures, used by some investors as an inflation- outlook guide, have soared 53 percent this year. Consumer prices will rise 0.9 percent in advanced economies next year compared with 0.1 percent in 2009, the International Monetary Fund forecast in July. In other countries, prices may gain 4.6 percent in 2010, from 5.3 percent this year, the fund said.

    Gold at more than $1,000 may attract more investors seeking to take advantage of the longest advance in the metal’s price in 60 years. Assets in some of the industry’s largest exchange- traded funds have reached all-time highs the past few months.

    The SPDR Gold Trust, the biggest ETF backed by the metal, reached a record 1,134.03 metric tons on June 1. The fund, which held 1,077.63 tons as of Sept. 4, has overtaken Switzerland as the world’s sixth-largest gold holding.

    Indian Demand

    Investors bought 222.4 tons of bullion in the second quarter, 46 percent more than a year earlier, the World Gold Council said in August. That’s less than 595.9 tons in the first quarter, when investment demand exceeded usage by jewelers for the first time since at least 2004.

    The National Spot Exchange Ltd. in India, the world’s largest consumer, launched small-denomination contracts in June to lure households to trade physical gold. In China “ongoing strength in demand” led by individual investors boosted sales 6 percent in the second quarter, the World Gold Council has said.

    “The market has the power to move up further,” said Ellison Chu, a metals manager with Standard Bank Asia Ltd., citing dollar weakness. Still, “the risk is that speculative investors could be tempted to sell out,” said Chu.

    Other precious metals have outperformed gold this year. Silver for immediate delivery gained 0.7 percent to $16.45 an ounce today, the highest since August 2008. It has climbed 44 percent this year.

    Platinum added 0.4 percent to $1,265 an ounce, increasing its gain this year to 35 percent. Palladium, the best performing precious metal this year, was 0.3 percent lower at $293.25 an ounce. It has gained 57 percent in 2009.

    “We are still skeptical that this is a sustainable rally and a comeback could be very painful,” Andrey Kryuchenkov, a VTB Capital analyst in London, said before today’s advance in gold. “Risk-averse buying is nowhere near the levels we saw last winter.”

    • Hi Cyndi,

      I think Black Flag has mentioned $5000 / ounce gold, eventually.

      I know someone heavily invested in silver options. This is on the belief that new industrial / electronic uses are being developed that will use a great deal of the metal. To me, that depends on if, when, and how bad an economic meltdown will be. In a severe global meltdown, I would think the industrial demand would be greatly diminished, but it may still be useful as a currency substitute.

      • Thanks Dee. I missed that one. $5000 per ounce? I wonder what that would me to the likes of us. I guess the dollar would be pretty worthless by then, eh?

      • Black Flag says:

        Silver tends to go up and down faster then gold – and due to its high leverage as an industrial metal, there are more complex factors then merely a falling dollar.

        Also, it takes 100x more silver ore than gold for the same price. Platinum suffers the same industrial usage issues, but not the price/oz quantity issue.

        Gold will probably hit $5,000 or higher within this decade is my guess – but its just a guess.

  16. Mrs. Weapon says:

    Thank you to all for your kind words for our new baby. It is always interesting to introduce a new member of the family (Godric) to old members of the family (Quenten: 23lb MainCoon cat). I know have all the babies I need!

    • Richmond Spitfire says:

      Hi Mrs. Weapon,

      Could we please see a picture of “Maine” Weapon? I love big cats!

      Best Regards,
      Richmond Spitfire

  17. PLEASE BEAR WITH MY REMARKS, I LOST A LITTLE, OLD, FAT, CHIHUAHUA, SO SAD FOR ME, SO BEING A BIT LONESOME AS I LIVE ALONG, PICKED UP FROM A NEIGHBOR A JACK RUSSELL CROSS, A MIX, AND A COUPLE WEEKS LATER A LONG-HAIRED CHIHUAHUA, MALE, WITH THE OLD 9 YEAR OLD CHIHUAHUA, I HAD I NOW HAVE 3 DOGS AND DISABLED. THE JACK RUSSELL BARKS OFTEN, SOUNDS LIKE A SCREAM, AND THE 2 SMALL ONES RACE AROUND THE HOUSE, IT IS DIFFICULT BUT I THINK IT IS MORE HEALTHY THAN IF I LIVED ALL ALONE AND JUST MURMURED TO MYSELF ABOUT HOW LONESOME I WAS. NEW CZAR, A ANIMAL RIGHTS AND REGULATORY PERSON, BELIEVES ANIMALS SHOULD HAVE LAWYERS AND AGAINST HUNTING, GUN CONTROL ON HIS LIST, I STILL SAY THE ONLY WAY OUT OF THIS HUGE MESS USA IS IN IS STOMP ON THE HEAD SNAKE AND THE REST WILL UNWIND. AM I BEING CRUEL, WHEN HE TRASHES JESUS CHRIST, WHEN HE SAYS HOW BAD USA IS, I SAY TO THIS PERSON, LEAVE GO BACK TO INDONESIA AND LIVE WITH YOUR BUDDIES AND TAKE YOUR CHICAGO THUGS WITH YOU. WHEN I HEARD HIM SAY THE MOST BEAUTIFUL SOUND IN THE WORLD TO OBAMA ARE THE 5 DAILY CALLS TO PRAYER FROM A MOSQUE, I REALIZED THEN WE HAVE A MUSLIM PRESIDENT.

    • Goldie, if no one else has done so, let me welcome you to USWeapon’s blog. You will like the personalities you find here. We have a few pirates, a parrot turns up from time to time, a dog, and assorted other beings of all ages and callings. I am sorry to hear you lost your chihuahua. some dogs are just special (yes you, Canine Weapon) and steal a piece of your heart. I had a little hairball named Ted (after Mr. Nugent, not the bear) for 15 years and still miss him. My very best to you – c

